Barangay Balatacan

Brief history of Barangay Balatacan


Barangay Balatacan is an original barrio of Tangub (then Municipality of Regidor). The municipality of Tangub before was composed of the barrios of Tangub, Dimalooc, Kauswagan, Labuyo, Bintana, Pangabuan, Silangit, Bagumbang, Buracan, Dimalco, Bolinsong, Calolot, Tiaman and Balatacan.

The place was named Balatacan because according to the inhabitants (old villagers), the area was mostly planted with bamboo which was scattered around the area.  People would go there to cut bamboos and make them into slats for fences and strips to make baskets, "bokag" and "nigo."  

 In the past, this place was not recognized because it has no name. One merchant had a hard time locating the area. He decided together with the people living there to give the place a name. They agreed that the name of the area should be something related to the main livelihood of the residents. Since their major source of income was to slash bamboo, they named the place "Batakan" which literally means "to slash bamboo and split it into sizes."   Over the years, Batakan was mispronounced as Balatacan.  The people became used to the mispronounced name, which now has permanently became Balatacan.   

The barangay is a fishing village. Long before, many people living along the coastline caught fish and other marine life as means of living. Some of their catch were bartered with merchants who came to the place. It was also said that there was a seaport where some of the vessels from Cebu and other places from Visayas and Luzon docked in the area. But it is difficult to locate the seaport today because the coastline has also receded.

Batacan became barangay in 1946 after the World War II through R.A No. 3861. The first ever barangay Captain (Teniente Del Barrio) was Santiago Pacalioga but he was replaced by Sixto Javier. During this, the center for commerce was transferred to the upper portion of the barangay from the bay area. It was then the new Balatacan was formed and organized in 1964.

Sixto Javier was considered as one of the most influential persons in the barangay who served as ABC President of Tangub. But because of illness, he was not able to continue his service to the barangay. Instead, he trained someone by the name of Diosdado Bautista Sr. who later became the barangay captain. In 1984 barangay elections, Baustista lost to Vicente Tan who served as barangay chairman until 1986. Vicente Tan stepped down from his position and appointed Susan Tan to replace him instead. Susan Tan brought change to the barangay during her incumbency for eight years. She was also appointed as the president of the Association of Barangay Captains in the city and became part of the city council. In 1994, new sets of officials took over the place. Peter Perez became the chairman and served until his death in 2005. Currently, Barangay Captain Tiburcio delos Reyes is the barangay captain who was a barangay councilor.




Barangay Officials
  Name Position
Image result for user icon LIMBARING, JOEL MANLANGIT  Punong Barangay
Image result for user icon BAZAR, ERLINDA CALIMPONG  Barangay Kagawad
Image result for user icon FUENTES, AIZA MAE DELOS REYES  Barangay Kagawad
Image result for user icon HONCULADA, SIMPLICIO CABATUAN  Barangay Kagawad
Image result for user icon FLORES, WILSON ELLO  Barangay Kagawad
Image result for user icon LAZAGA, NOBELITO PLARIZA  Barangay Kagawad
Image result for user icon SONAJO, MERLINDA PEREZ  Barangay Kagawad
Image result for user icon LIWAGON, MARCHIE FLORE Barangay Kagawad
Image result for user icon LOQUIAS, REGIN ALIA  SK Chairman
Image result for user icon LIBONFACIL, ROSEMARIE REVELLEZA  Barangay Secretay
Image result for user icon SECUYA, FELIX BOAQUINA  Barangay Treasurer
Barangay Hall Address  
Email Address  
Telephone Number  
Cellphone Number  
Facebook Page